Ranking the Discography: Nightwish Part V: Once (2004)

Once had three singles (four if you count “Kuolema Tekee Taitellijan”, which was only released in Finland and Japan.): “Nemo”, “Wish I Had an Angel”, and “The Siren”. This was the last album to feature Tarja Turunen on vocals.


Tarja Turunen: vocals

Empuu Vuorinen: guitar

Marko Hietala: bass, vocals

Tuomas Holopainen: keyboards

Jukka Nevalainen: drums, percussion

The Tracks:

  1. “Dark Chest of Wonders”: This song gets its title from Stephen King’s dedication in The Stand to his wife Tabitha. It makes me think of the Greek myth of Pandora. It’s an excellent opener.
  2. ” Wish I Had an Angel “: This song seems to imply a loss of purity, and makes references to both the Virgin Mary and Judas’s betrayal. It’s my favorite of the singles.
  3. ” Nemo”: Tuomas’s keyboard is beautifully haunting on this. It’s one of my favorite Nightwish songs.
  4. “Planet Hell”: This song was used by the San Antonio Spurs during their 2005 season. Marko’s vocals are excellent.
  5. ” Creek Mary’s Blood”: This gets its title and inspiration from a book by Dee Brown. It has a beautiful flute.
  6. “The Siren”: Tarja is beautiful on this one. One of the best songs on the album.
  7. ” Dead Gardens “: I don’t care for the growly vocals on this.
  8. ” Romanticide”: Marko has good vocals, and the orchestra is great.
  9. “Ghost Love Score”: This is the longest song on the album, at 10 minutes. It’s the best song on the album.
  10. ” Kuolema Tekee Taiteilijan”: This is the second song to be sung in Finnish. The title means “Death of an Artist” .
  11. “Higher Than Hope” : This song is dedicated to the memory of Marc Brueland, who narrates the song. He died soon after the album was released.

Final Verdict: This is probably my favorite Nightwish album so far. It’s an excellent album for Tarja to go out on.

Grade: A+


Author: rocklobsterjwt

I am a Christian and an anime fan. My blog will cover anime reviews and maybe an occasional story

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: