Ranking the Discography: Deep Purple Part XIX: Now What?!

Now What?! was released in 2013. It had 5 singles and received positive reviews from various sites. It was the first Deep Purple album since 1993’s The Battle Rages On to enter the UK Top 40.


Ian Gillan: vocals

Steve Morse: guitar

Roger Glover: bass

Ian Paice: drums, percussion

The Tracks

  1. “A Simple Song”: Pretty good way to start. This sounds like a great overture.
  2. ” Weirdistan “: This song rocks! Steve and Roger play some good licks.
  3. “Out of Hand”: Gillan may be showing his age, but he doesn’t sound bad. Some good rhythm too.
  4. ” Hell to Pay”: This is a decent rocker with a good keyboard session.
  5. “Body Line”: I didn’t like this one much.
  6. ” Above and Beyond “: One of the best songs on the album.
  7. ” Blood From a Stone”: This one was pretty good. Loved the guitar effects.
  8. “Uncommon Man”: Both this and “Above and Beyond” are dedicated to Jon Lord, and Airey has a cool fanfare that was inspired by “Fanfare For the Common Man” .
  9. “Après Vous”: Some good rhythm on this one.
  10. ” All the Time in the World”: A pretty decent single.
  11. “Vincent Price”: An excellent tribute to the horror movie icon.

Final Verdict: Overall, a good album, but not the best.

Grade: B


Author: rocklobsterjwt

I am a Christian and an anime fan. My blog will cover anime reviews and maybe an occasional story

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: